As an employee in Maryland, it is important to understand your legal rights when it comes to getting paid. Maryland is a hard-working state, and all workers should be paid fairly and on time.
Employers in Maryland must abide by strict minimum wage and overtime laws, as well as legal payday requirements. If employees believe that they have been not paid fairly or in accordance with state and federal laws, it is important that they consider taking action and standing up for their rights.
What is the minimum wage in Maryland?
The minimum wage differs slightly depending on a person’s age, whether they are engaging in tipped work, and whether or not they are executives. Those aged under 16 and over 62 who are not employed full-time are exempt from minimum wage laws.
If an employee is working and being tipped, for example in a restaurant, then he or she has the right to earn a minimum of $3.63 per hour directly from his or her employer. In addition, the pay from the employer and the tips must equal at least minimum wage.
Minimum wage in Maryland is currently $9.25 per hour, and it is set to increase in July 2018 to $10.10. All employers must ensure that their workers are earning this amount in total, regardless of whether they are tipped employees or not.
If you are an employee in Maryland and you believe that your wage rights have been violated, it is important that you take action as soon as possible so that justice can be done.
Source: FindLaw, “Maryland Wage and Hour Laws,” accessed April 05, 2018