It can be very frustrating and disheartening to feel as though you are not getting the pay or the work that you believe you are entitled to at your job. However, when you feel that you are being treated unfairly, it is important that you learn about your rights and take action accordingly.
In the state of Maryland, there are many protections in place for those who are subject to poor treatment in regard to overtime. Overtime pay and overtime dissemination is legally regulated.
What is the legally required pay for overtime in Maryland?
When an employee works over 40 hours in a given week, the additional hours worked count as overtime hours. This means that, in most cases, employees must be paid 150 percent of their regular hourly rate.
However, there are exceptions to this. Notably, bowling alley workers and caregivers in nursing homes or caregivers of disabled people are only able to claim overtime pay if they have worked more than 48 hours in a given working week.
In addition, food service employees, movie theater employees, amusement park employees, hotel employees, food manufacturing employees and gas station employees are not protected by the state overtime law. Their employers are still subject to federal laws, however.
What happens if I am not protected by state laws?
If you are not protected by state laws, you are still protected by federal laws, which usually means that you will still be eligible for 150 percent of normal pay after you have worked 40 hours.
It is important to understand your overtime rights as a worker in Maryland. Make sure to conduct thorough research and take action when appropriate.
Source: FindLaw, "Maryland Overtime Laws," accessed March 15, 2018